A is for application

If you’ve ever worked, you have more than likely filled out an application.

Upon my arrival in Dallas in 1981 I immediately found a head hunter. I was 22 years old and had no idea of what I wanted “to do”. Thankfully, she was great at her job. She asked good questions…what did I like to do and what I didn’t like to do. Those answers gave her insight into what kind of jobs would bore me silly, make me crazy or fulfill my personality traits and work strengths.  I am creative, I MUST be able to move around (for some reason if I can’t I tend to fall asleep) weird, I know. I like interacting with people AND, the strength that got me the interview, I’m detail oriented. In the Graphic Arts Industry, you’d better be detailed or at least have a counter-part (CSR?) who is.

Job 1:  Dallas Label & Box Company, and boy did the head hunter get it right. I freakin loved printing. Everything about it, the constant change, the people (well, mostly,) the process, not so much the smell but you get accustomed to that. I was hired as a sales/service coordinator. I talked to clients and wrote up jobs. Took care of 5-6 sales people and their correspondence. I was GOOD because I liked my job. I didn’t mention this job in my initial blog because it only lasted a year. After they closed down I was asked to join the print brokerage firm started by one of their successful sales people and that’s where I stayed for the next five years.

How does “A is for application” apply to printing and print sales? Early on I actually had a couple of potential clients fume at my request to fill out a credit application. At first I thought, did I do/say something wrong?  Maybe they thought their response would make me doubt the need to get an application for credit. Any legitimate business that requests a line of  credit knows a credit application is a normal part of doing business. You might think this is basic duh, but you’d be surprised how many print companies might push the requirement aside if it’s met with angst by a potential client. You surely don’t want to lose the sale because of a silly piece of paper. It’s better to move on quickly and quietly if a potential client fumes at the request to fill out a credit application. Accounting is right on this one!

Leave a Reply

