XYZ – I love the internet!

Imagine my surprise when I Googled XYZ and came up with a reference to printing. I’m impressed by how easily the internet search engines can locate relevant information from a seemingly random entry.

The XYZ references a series of experiments used to define color spaces in the 1920’s, 30’s and redefined again in 1964. The CIE 1931 XYZ color space, mathematically valued three parameters to describe color sensations or wavelengths seen by the human eye. Those three parameters were the basis for establishing values we currently use to define color or RGB.

RGB is the color gamut used in computers and TV monitors. Printers use the CMYK ink combination to replicate RGB color in the printing process. It’s a lot more complicated than my simple explanation, but just knowing there is a connection to my XYZ post to printing is impressive.

And, to think that I was going to make my husband’s day by telling him I was going to write about the XYZ Band. OK, I’ll tell you anyway. The XYZ Band was a proposed super group made up of ex Yes and Zeppelin members: (hence the XYZ) Jimmy Page, Chris Squire, Alan White and Robert Plant. After their first rehearsal Plant decided not to continue and the idea for the proposed group never formed. There, I still got in the other reference to XYZ that probably has a larger audience than my print reference.

Who could have imagined years ago that such random information would be so easily accessed? The power of the internet is both amazing and frightening.

2 thoughts on “XYZ – I love the internet!

Leave a Reply

