The Passionate Printer

I was cleaning my kitchen this weekend and out of boredom I turned on the TV to see if I could find a movie to watch to as I worked. What I stumbled upon was an infomercial about the Zumba fitness/dance craze. I was spell-bound.

If you know me at all, you know I can dance and I was a disco queen when disco was the craze. Don’t laugh…really, I was. When I moved to Texas at the age of 22 I actually had somebody recognize me from my dancing days in SW Michigan. By then though, I was married and spent my time diligently working because that’s what I thought I was supposed to do as a young adult. I’d been told so many times that I couldn’t make a living dancing, so I gave up on the idea and found work…thankfully in a creative industry.

I’ve always been passionate about selling printing. Call me silly, easy-to-please, I don’t care. I like what I do, but I have to admit the past few years have been so frustrating that I’ve lost some of my spunk somewhere along the line. I don’t like to admit it but I feel like I need to, if only to find it again. (my passion)

Getting back to the Zumba infomercial. I felt absolutely ridiculous standing in my kitchen so badly wanting to order the CD. I’ve never ordered anything from an infomercial! But, the sound of the music made me move around my kitchen with a smile on my face. But, I just couldn’t bring myself to make the call and I convinced myself that I just don’t need the distraction right now.

In retrospect, maybe I do need the distraction. Maybe I do need to move around again and throw my hands up into the air with abandon. Maybe, just maybe, the joy of the dance will re-ignite some energy and passion I need to get through our industry as it changes.

So, I ordered the CD’s on-line this morning. Zumba anyone?

9 thoughts on “The Passionate Printer

  1. OMG – Love it!!!

    Why don’t we do this for the next Girls Who Print mixer?! What we lack in skill, we will surely make up for with enthusiasm!

    Love the whole “dance with abandon” idea!

    😉 mb, who can still shake it when she has to – lol

  2. Cathy,
    You must come with us next time the girls go out! We ended up at Sambuca360 in Plano on Friday night shaking our “Groove Things”. Dancing is oh so good for the soul. Nothing like shaking off the work week, by shaking your money maker!! 🙂

  3. Cathy, back in the day when I worked for GBC, we would take over the dance floor at our national meetings and just dance ourselves silly – so invigorating and so much fun – nothing like a bunch of middle-aged matrons dancing to 80s rock to clear the rest of the room… 🙂

    I think we have a plan, girlfriend!

  4. Pingback: Updates ~ « Print Stories

  5. Hello all! Not only loco for litho, but zany for Zumba! I truly loved this post – thanks to the link from Kevin Keane – who knows I am a Zumba maniac. Not since the endless dance-night-outs of the 80s have I enjoyed myself SO much. Here in our health club, Zumba is easily the most popular group fitness class offered – we have over 10/week, and I am not ashamed to say I schedule my work around those classes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

