Chump Change?

Tyler’s first mission trip was to Mexico and boy was he excited about his upcoming adventure. For months prior to them leaving we attended all the parent meetings, where we talked about where they would be and their safety. We talked about what they should bring and more importantly what they shouldn’t bring on the trip, especially too much spending money, cell phones, computers or ipods.

There was a lot to do before their departure. Malaria pills, shots, supplies and ultimately packing. As we went through the packing list and checked things off I remembered that I had some pesos left over from trips to Mexico. Some of the money was from a trip a long time ago. I knew right where the money was, it was tucked away in the bottom of an old jewelry box in my closet. I went ahead and got it and told Ty that he could hide it away in his bag in case he needed some money for gifts. He was a little reluctant because they weren’t supposed to bring a lot of money. The pesos totaled a little over $75.00. He was still wary, but I insisted that he take it.

Fast forward two weeks later and in true Ty-style he exits the plane with a huge sombrero on his head. Yes, that was his gift to me. As we gathered bags and headed for the car I couldn’t wait to hear about his experience in Mexico. Did he learn anything? What did he witness? How did it feel? Did he eat enough? Did he have enough money? That’s when Ty said, mom we have something to talk about. Parents all around the world know what that means…what’s wrong? Nothing, he said, but he forewarned me that if he made a wrong decision that I could take the money out of his savings account. Oh dear, I thought, what did he do?

Well…let me back up just a bit. When I was counting the pesos from my jewelry box I knew the exchange rate. I counted and recounted and thought I was making an error in moving the decimal. No, that just can’t be right I convinced myself and never gave it another thought. Till now. So, Tyler said, mom, do you know how much money you gave me? Yes, $75.00, right? Well, no mom it was actually $750.00. OHHHHHHH, kkkkkkkkk. So, what did you do with the money?

Tyler donated it to the church in Mexico so they could build a roof. Are you mad mom? No, I said, not at all…God put that money in the right hands.

7 thoughts on “Chump Change?

  1. Pingback: My Day of Reflection « Print Stories

  2. His heart is as big as that sombrero! Well done Tyler!… It is great to know that there ARE good young adults in the world!

    We would all do better if we could learn to live with our hands open…palm up, not clenched tightly onto things of no eternal significance…

    now for a drink of water…

  3. Wow, what a story. How old is Tyler? That makes me happy to hear this story and it’s cute that he would’ve paid out of his own account if he “made a wrong decision”.

    I’m curious to know the answers to your other questions as well, though. 🙂 What did he witness? How did he feel? Did he learn anything?

    Thanks again for sharing.

Leave a Reply

