Hidden Treasures

My friend Gretchen and I love to wander around estate sales looking for hidden treasures. Neither one of us qualifies as shy when it comes to pawing through stuff some folks wouldn’t think to touch. We’ve scouted through many garages and even a backyard shed on one occasion. We’re not prissy girls.

We like real wood furniture, things made of glass and the unique odds and ends. I tend to favor old books and she favors fabric. On one excursion I happened upon an old end table. It was a nice hardwood with a thick cut glass top for $35.00, what a bargain. Before I buy, I like to look at potential purchases from all angles, so I’m always crouching down looking around and under. That’s when I noticed the hidden drawer. Cool.

I bought the table with the promise I wouldn’t look in the secret drawer until I got home, and I wondered whether or not I would have a moral dilemma on my hands. I entertained myself with thoughts of old money and precious jewelry. What anticipation. What I found inside the drawer was a receipt from 1954, an old brochure about adopting cats, a deck of Spanish/English playing cards printed for Braniff Airlines and a 1949 map of Dallas. Not a treasure trove, but some very cool printed pieces for this printing gal.

The old map of Dallas is a lovely example of history. It has I75 marked in a dotted red line as the future site of the proposed super highway. Interstate 35 and 635 don’t exist and the Royal Lane / Walnut Hill streets north of Bachman Lake are barren of neighborhoods. Printed in 1949 means that map is old…62 years old! It is a gift to have this piece of history and I’m glad that it was me, a printer, who found the map and will treasure its historical value and keep it safe.

4 thoughts on “Hidden Treasures

Leave a Reply

