Identity Crisis ~

It’s not unusual for a person to be many things. I’m a writer, a printer and a dancer. I also know what I’m not, I’m not a pianist, a race-car driver or a therapist. Although I could pound out a few notes on a piano, I could drive my car really fast if I wanted to, and I could give advice to a friend, but I’m not trained, naturally talented or educated for those things.

It’s also not unusual for a printer to be many things. I can consult, print, manage and fulfill complex and challenging projects. I also know what I’m not.

The latest popular trend is for print companies to rename themselves as marketing services providers, but I’m not trained, naturally talented or educated to do that. Although, there are those who do have the marketing skills to provide this service, I would guess that most printers don’t. So why the rush to say you’re something you’re not?

I can tell people I’m a 5’10” blond, but when I walk in the door and you see a 5’5″ brunette you’re going to know I’m not who I told you I was. Although I can alter my hair color to give you an impression of who I want to be, I can’t change the physical attributes of who I really am. I am a printer.

Leave a Reply

