Irene…

Irene worked at I Can’t Believe It’s Yogurt when I first called on her about ICBY’s printing needs. She was friendly, articulate and didn’t have a lick of printing I could help her with. She had small run work and I only had big 40″ presses. Rats.

We kept in contact, because she recognized the value of maintaining relationships with multiple vendors. We also enjoyed our chats, and, you just never know where people will end up. Then, there’s that possibility that a small company might morph into a bigger company.

Well, it was more than a year later when Irene landed a new job. In her new job she needed lots of long run work. Thankfully, she remembered me because I had kept in contact with her during the times when she was a small print buyer. Now she was a big print buyer!

That was more than 20 years ago and Irene moved away many years ago. I will always remember the opportunity she gave to me. It reminds me that the time a sales person invests in people is never wasted. Even if it means spending a lot of time educating a new person in our industry or servicing a smaller company.

You just never know where people will end up.

Leave a Reply

