Simple Things ~

I went shoe shopping the other day and tried on about three dozen shoes before I found the combination of comfort, height and fit I was looking for.

Every woman knows that the height of their shoe must reflect their own height, what they’re wearing the shoes with and when they’ll wear the shoes. Comfort is a requirement for some women, but obviously not for all. I’ve seen women squish their toes into pointy little shoes. I go for comfort since I’m on my feet a lot during the day. Fit is a must too. I tried on a couple of pairs where the height and comfort were perfect but my heel kept slipping out as I walked. That’s not good.

One of the first pairs I tried on was one of the two pairs I bought on that shopping trip. It didn’t occur to me at the time why they were so appealing. Besides height, fit and comfort, it was the designer’s position of the buckle and the strap. Something very simple. The shoes I choose had the buckle more forward on my foot. The others had me contorting uncomfortably in the shoe store trying to get the strap through the buckle part.

It only occurred to me the next morning when I was strapping on my new shoes. They were easy to buckle.
It was something so very simple, but so very important…less irritation in my morning. Yay.

So yes, as usual, that got me to thinking about what I do for a living. Clients are fairly typical in their desire for the combination of price, quality and turnaround from their print providers. But what about the simple things that might make us easier to work with. This is worth thinking about.

2 thoughts on “Simple Things ~

Leave a Reply

