Why?

When I was young I never thought to myself…”gee, when I grow up I want to be a sales person.”

My sales career happened because I stumbled upon a fascinating industry, Graphic Arts, and more specifically ~ printing. Initially I was hired as a Sales-Service Secretary (for a printing facility), promoted to Customer Service for a very successful salesman, and then, I made the ultimate leap to sales.

Why? Because I was fairly certain that I could do the work. During my years of support roles, I watched other sales people and knew that I had the combination of work ethic and industry knowledge to do what needed to be done. What I didn’t know at the time is that it would take a bit of luck. That one person who would make a difference.

I’ve written before about that one person, from Morgan to Cyndi, that single person, who without their involvement, a story might end very differently.

If you ask any business owner or sales person, more than likely they will admit there was a person, who without them, they wouldn’t have been successful. It’s not as rare as you think to find the person who will make the difference, you just have to try.

One thought on “Why?

  1. That is exactly right. In my case there has been more than one but I have sold paper, printing. packaging, insurance and each one of those had at least one person that I can look back and say without them there might have been a different outcome.

Leave a Reply

